top of page
  • Writer's pictureMila Fox

Styling Difficult Materials

Dear Fashionistas,


Welcome back & Happy Spring! I can't even express how happy I am to finally ditch my winter wear; It's finally time to pull out shorts and tank tops! With that, I am officially starting my Spring-Summer fashion series. This first post will be talking about how to style difficult clothing items - specifically color-block/striped fashion.


Personally, I've had a massive struggle with determining how to style complicated patterns. A lot of different factors come into play, such as material, bagginess/slenderness of the clothing item, color, etcetera... I recently bought a pair of blue & green striped pants, and have had the absolute hardest time styling them. There was a long period of time where I simply gave up on wearing those pants - despite how cute they are - because I just couldn't find anything to wear it with! I once tried styling it with a plain black cotton sweater, but I encountered two problems...


1) The material clash was just horrid

2) The bagginess of the sweater just didn't work with these pants


Usually there isn't too much of a problem with styling an oversized sweater with slim bottoms, but this case was unique because these pants actually begin to flare out from the knee down.


The trick to styling these pants came completely out of the blue. As I was looking through my closet one day, I found the most (seemingly obvious) solution. Instead of trying to match the top and bottoms, I decided to take a risk by just matching materials, and here's what happened...


See Below

Crazy, right?! I was having such trouble styling these pants, because I was so stuck on trying to match the colors, instead of matching materials. I was actually quite lucky in this situation, because the bottoms are dark blue, and the top also has a hint of the same shade of blue (what a coincidence). However, as (also) shown above, a plain colored top would work just as well.


These pants are unique, too, because they're made out of 100% polyester, which is typically used for athletic wear because of its silky, absorbent material. Until further notice, I highly suggest pairing like materials together that are otherwise difficult to style. From there, start paying attention to color palettes and see what colors blend well together.


Was this advice helpful? Let me know in the comments below!


Until next time... Keep Strong and Fashion On.


XOXO,


MGF


14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page