top of page
  • Writer's pictureMila Fox

A New Jersey Getaway

Dear Fashionistas,


Happy March! According to my calendar, Spring is right around the corner! If you know me, you know I am counting down the days 'til warmer weather finally makes a reappearance. I will be the first in line to trade in my layered sweaters for sleeveless styles! But, for now, I think I'll cling tight to my cashmere and thermals until that day ACTUALLY comes; which should be soon! Hopefully... *fingers crossed*


Alright! Now for today's post:


Recently, I took an exciting 3.5 hour road trip to New Jersey/New York. My family and I wanted to take a day off and dine at one of our (California) frequent favorites: Houston's! Since the early 2010's, we have religiously ordered the same four items on the menu:


- Spinach Artichoke Dip

- Smoked Salmon

- Veggie Burger; substituted with grilled onions, red onions, cheddar cheese, and spicy mayo (similar to their California burger but NOT quite!!)


And last, but certainly not least, their infamous Five Nut Brownie!


Delicious food aside, I have to admit that my OOTD on that day is also one of my favorite 2020 looks thus far. I combined one of my beloved maxi skirts with a newer thermal of mine, and the results were fabulous!


Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear your opinions!


The Look:


Thermal: Free People

Maxi Skirt: Free People

Barrette: Free People

Scrunchie: Free People

Boots: PUMA

As you may have noticed, the majority of this look is accredited to Free People!


Well... What can I say? I'm completely obsessed!


To be frank, I (previously) had a difficult time styling this maxi skirt because I didn't have any tops or jackets that really complimented it. I think the key to this look is the matching shades of tan brown, but also the stylized hem of the thermal top. It allows the shirt to nicely rest over the skirt without looking floppy or messy. It's a great option for those who don't like tucking their shirts in (as I am sometimes that person).


Plus, the side-parted ponytail is one of my new favorite hairstyles - it is so effortlessly chic! The barrette and yellow sweater-textured scrunchie were definite ways to spice it up. Though it is certainly not necessary for those who aren't accessory fiends (as I often am). The look is so beautiful already; I just personally love adding pops of "pizzazz!!"


What are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments.


Lastly, here are some of my favorite photographs from my day trip to New Jersey and New York. I was super excited to take photographs on that day because it was my second time using 35mm color film! These were, for the most part, taken while I was in the passenger seat, which explains some of the blur. Keeping a steady hand is something that I definitely need to work on (especially for situations such as this), but I think some of the photos came out pretty cool!


Take a peek:




Thank you so much for reading! If you have any questions or comments, feel free to reach out.


Always Remember My Mantra: Keep Strong and Fashion On!


XOXO,


MGF




10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page