top of page
  • Writer's pictureMila Fox

A Day on the Island...

Dear Fashionistas,


Happy Sunday & Happy (almost) Summer!!! It's safe to say that the hot & humid weather is here to stay - at least for these next couple of months - but, I suppose I'll wait until June 21st to *officially* say it's Summer. Now that the heat has taken over the East Coast, I can finally worm my way back into the sand. Believe it or not, I haven't been to the beach in over a year - I guess that makes me a true "Eastie!"


Quite honestly, I feel bad for all of the East Coasters who are also beach-lovers, because, here, there are actual restrictions on when people are permitted to go to the beach. In fact, the beaches actually CLOSE once the summer's over - a concept that was completely foreign to me, being the California Native that I am... I'm used to the beach being as accessible as breakfast, lunch & dinner! To me, it's just a must!


... I could go on & on about the shockingly vast differences between the East and West coast, BUT I'll spare you that endless tangent, and cut to the chase:


I recently took a trip down to Aquidneck Island to see if all the hype about Newport, Rhode Island is accurate! Having lived in Newport Beach (CA) for many years, I have high standards (haha!). I like to distinguish the two cities by calling Newport, R.I., the "Newport of the East." I found this to be a simple way to absolve any confusion as to which coast I'm referring to when I say I'm in Newport.


I wanted to commemorate my first time back at the beach (this year) with a super chic look, so I decided to dress with a loosely inspired theme in mind... Sailor girl! Now, as previously mentioned, I didn't take this theme too literally; I actually found the color palette to be an extremely successful base to work from.


Take a look and let me know what you think!



OOTD:

- Blue + White Striped Button Up

- Black Crotched Sleeveless Top

- White Cotton Pants

- Red Quay Australia Sunglasses

- Red Kate Spade Bag

- Black Strappy Sandals


Cute, right? I hope you think so! I've actually never paired these clothing pieces together before, but have had them all for the same amount time. How funny!


If I could change one thing, I'd probably switch out the pants for a pair of shorts because it was A LOT hotter than I'd expected it to be! Honestly, I'm pretty sure that had been the hottest/most humid day of the year (so far).


What are your thoughts on this latest pairing? Let me know in the comments below; I'd love to hear your feedback/advice.


Until next time, Fashionistas... Keep Strong and Fashion On!


XOXO,


MGF






21 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page